The Federation of Professional Toastmasters
    Home         History           Officers           Members           Functions           Weddings           Joining           Contact           Links      

The History of the Federation of Professional Toastmasters

The Federation was founded in 1985 by two like-minded and enthusiastic professionals, Noel Hampton and Alan Yates (both deceased), to promote the art of the Toastmaster.

Over the years membership has extended from Norfolk and Suffolk and now includes members from Cornwall to Scotland.

Every member is a trained professional, fully conversant with the variety of functions requiring a high standard of knowledge, accuracy, dignity and control, presented with quintessential British traditional style and elegance.

Membership is made up of professional Toastmasters throughout the United Kingdom. Application for membership is open to both experienced Toastmasters and those wishing to enter the profession, subject to examination and interview. (please see Joining tab at the top of the page).

Noel Hampton - Founder Member

The picture above shows
Past President Derrick Thomas (right)
welcoming the new President for 2019-2021
Mike Wabe

Mike Wabe
President 2019 – 20021

Martin Wynne Past President (Retired)

The picture below shows Past President Martin Wynne’s retirement gift presented by the Members after 19 years of loyal service to the Federation serving as President (2 occasions) and Secretary.

In 2019, Martin was pleased to accept the position of
Life Vice President of the Federation of Professional Toastmasters.

The 30th Anniversary Luncheon held on Sunday,12th June 2016 at the Hotel Victoria, Lowestoft
Retired and current members are seen from left to right: Don Watt (retired), Stephen Williams, Mike Wabe (Secretary),
Robin Twigge, Derrick Thomas, Eric Cook (retired), Brian Day, Martin Wynne (President),
Gerry Rhodes and Rodger Oatley (Treasurer).

25th Anniversary Weekend
The Federation of Professional Toastmasters celebrated its 25th Anniversary at a weekend get together at
The Cliff Hotel, Gorleston on Sea on 25th April 2010.
25th Anniversary of the Federation of Professional Toastmasters
Pictured left to right (back row) Robin Twigge, Paul Grant, Derrick Thomas, Les Hizzett, Graham Kinnersley,
Martin Wynne (Past President), Chris Watt, Gerry Rhodes
Left to Right (Front row) Noel Hampton (Founder and Past President rtd) Rodger Oatley (President 2008-2010)
and Eric Cook (Past President retd)

The Original Members of the Federation 1985